Self-talk

I’m off to a run clinic shortly. Let me share something with you, I do not run. I am by no means a runner. My body is that of a ski racer, big legs and hips, not conducive to running whatsoever.

But I’m out there, determined and so inspired from the triathlon and half ironman I saw in Lake George. I became a member of the local triathlon club when I got back and signed up for this start smart running clinic. So far it’s been great.

So why do I bring up self-talk? Well last week I shared a tip with my group before we took off on our run. I’ll be doing the same today. A woman approached me during the run and spoke about the negative self-talk she had going on in her head.

I like to call it the itty bitty shitty committee. You know the one. The voice that says: “you can’t do this” or ” you suck” or worse, a combination of both.

So how do you go about changing that voice in your head to a more positive one? The first step is awareness. Spend some time observing what the dialogue is like in your head. The next step is challenging the voice and flipping it. The outcome is to have a positive vibe and voice going on.

So instead of “I can’t do this” say to yourself “why don’t I give this a shot and see how it goes.”

Give it a shot and let me know what you think. I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

