Resonance

Today’s post is on another tool I use frequently in my sports psychology business. In fact my practice is geared around this element.

I work from feelings because I believe they are what motivate us on a daily basis whether we’re conscious of them or not. The way we drive, our food choices and what we wear are all influenced by how we feel.

I remember asking people on a gray rainy day at work why they chose to wear the somber attire they chose that day. Universally people said it’s because they were feeling blah and the weather was gloomy. I, on the other hand, chose to wear bright colors to make sure I felt cheery since the weather wasn’t very nice that day.

How you feel dictates whether you’ll have that pint of ice cream, that second piece of cheesecake or the half dozen cookies. How many times do we portray a woman eating a pint of ice cream as a remedy for a broken heart. It may be counter intuitive but get out for some fresh air and a walk instead. You’ll definitely feel better for it!

I think I’ve established a pattern here. So how do we apply it to our athletic endeavors and every day life? Easy.

I ask all my athletes to think about how they want to feel while they are engaging in their chosen sport. For the ski racers I work with I go a step further. I ask them to think about how they want to feel in all four disciplines.

The next step is integrating the feeling they’ve identified into their imagery. This is an important step because they want to be able to call on and replicate that feeling again and again in their performance.

Being able to increase awareness around how you feel and having the ability to affect change around it is a powerful tool that can help you not only in sport but also in every day life.

Give it a try. Do your feelings influence your actions on a daily basis? I’d love to hear what you think.

2 thoughts on “Resonance

  1. 16hourguys says:

    Manipulating imagery. I don’t think there’s a better cure. Good stuff, thank you.

Leave a Reply

