Sidelined

It’s fair to say I’ve been skiing for most of my life.

36 years in fact. Yeah that’s a long time isn’t it?

Skiing holds a very important place in my life, it’s where I go to connect with myself.  When I’m done for the day I’m always grounded and peaceful.  Skiing is like home for me. A sacred space where my inner kid comes out to play and where I can let it all hang out.

I cannot imagine my life without skiing.

I grew up on ski hill, I come from a skiing family and a lot of time was spent at our local hill.  My formative moments happened on the hill.  My love of skiing naturally morphed into a love of ski racing, pushing the envelope to go faster.

When I quit ski racing I turned my passion for skiing into a need to teach others and became a ski instructor and coach. As you can see, I don’t stray very far from the hill.

If I could have it my way I’d happily ski year round.  Now wouldn’t that be fun?

I don’t fall often but when I do it tends to be pretty epic.  Yesterday was no exception. Crossing over on an innocuous flat run I hit a nasty compression and face planted.  Unfortunately my bindings did not release and I sprained my achilles pretty badly.  I got the wind knocked out of me. I’m sore today, limping around and bummed because conditions are so incredible this year and I’m missing out.

Here’s to a speedy recovery *sigh*.

Leave a Reply

