Silence

My silence has been overwhelming lately.

Another low period has come and gone. 

Frankly my highs and lows and the havoc they wreak are wearing on me. I’m tired of them and there seems to be no solution in sight.  I’ve been tested by my doctor and it turns out my thyroid is underfunctioning a little.

Ever since college this pattern has ruled my life.  Huge highs full of ideas, creativity and imagination inevitably followed by crushing lows that make me question my existence.  It’s not pretty.

The toll it’s taking on my partner is significant.  I feel like a burden, it’s really tough.

I’ve been misdiagnosed as being manic depressive.  I remember the first time I received the diagnosis I was so relieved.  Finally an explanation to my ups and downs. Turns out it’s just part of who I am and I have to learn to live with it.

I’ve weathered yet another storm, here’s hoping for calm waters for a little while.

Leave a Reply

