Kindness week

We are in the midst of kindness week here in Ottawa.  I struggle with the idea.

It’s a nice idea really, however, doesn’t it say something about the time we are in that we need to designate a week to kindness?  Have we become so centered that we have a week to remind us to be kind to each other? To smile?  My goodness.

I’d like to think kindness happens randomly and constantly.  I think it’s a bit much to designate a week to kindness.  Do we designate a week to love?  A day yes but not a week.

Has technology isolated us so much we need to be reminded to be kind?  I hope not.

So I’m going with the flow.  You won’t find me being kind just because it’s kindness week, you’ll find me being kind because I want to.

Leave a Reply

