If you are friends on Facebook are you really friends?

This is going to be a little bit of a rant.

I’m a big fan of social media and the power of technology to connect people.  It’s a great thing to live in such an age.  I’ve reconnected with old friends from high school and have plans to meet, it’s pretty awesome.

The issue I have is when someone wants to be friends on Facebook and the relationship ends there. If it’s someone I just met, it’s fine but it’s a little different when we used to be friends in real life.  Especially if I’ve gone through the trouble of sending them an email and even calling but gotten nothing in return.  Maybe my expectations are unrealistic but I don’t think so. 

If you want to be friends onFacebook and we have actually been friends and have lost touch and I’ve gone through the effort of actually writing you an email wanting to be in better touch with you, please have the decency to respond.  Or don’t but don’t expect to be friends on Facebook.  Too radical a notion? 

I don’t think Facebook is a catchall for taking a little time and writing an email or picking up the phone and calling.  Facebook is not a replacement for actual social graces.

Is it a sign of the times that we are relying on Facebook to replace the work that goes into friendships?  Have we become that pressed for time or lazy?  My hope is we haven’t.  I’ll continue to keep using Facebook as a great tool to connect with friends but will continue using email and the phone to maintain my relationships.  Here’s hoping you do too.

Leave a Reply

