My legacy

I’ve been reflecting lately on my legacy.  What it is I want to leave behind.  Not to worry dear readers I’m not planning on exiting this plane anytime soon, however, I have always been the type of person to question my existence, my purpose and what it is I want to be remembered for.

Life has been bountiful of late, I am feeling very blessed and grateful.  I am happy and most definitely on purpose.  I never really know the impact of the work I do.  I describe it as a pebble thrown in the water and whose ripples move outward.  I can check in with clients to make sure we are on track but when I give a talk on sports psychology I just never know what people will take away.

I had the great opportunity on the weekend to give a talk to 80 ski coaches on the importance of sports psychology in ski racing and coaching.  It was a-m-a-z-i-n-g.  I was nervous and excited, decided to get my butterflies to fly in formation and set my intent for the highest good of all involved.  I asked for support from a select network of my peeps and then flew.  I was on fire.  I kid you not.  Time became unimportant because in that moment I held 80 people in the palm of my hand.

I spoke of my experience as a ski racer.  The incredible potential I had.  My decision to quit the sport, my passion and what was my whole life up until that point.  How I would have loved to have someone like me to talk to.  How crucial coaching or lack of at that moment was for me.  I can honestly say it was the toughest decision I had to make.  I was 16.  I had no one to talk to, apart from a school psychologist whom I’m glad was there, but who wasn’t an athlete or a ski racer and who didn’t get any of those very important components.

So here I am 20 years later doing what I love.  Speaking with intent and passion about something I very much get.  Listening, facilitating and empowering the kids I am lucky enough to work with.  It is an honor for me.  I get so much energy from what it is I do that it doesn’t even feel like work.

Coaches came up to me after the session and shared their stories, experiences and sentiments.  I walked out of  there and it felt like I was floating.  I couldn’t wait to share my experience.  Most importantly I soaked it in, anchoring all those good feelings and smiling.  I think I must have been glowing I was so happy.

I felt a part of, connected and so blissfully on track.

Thank you George!

Leave a Reply

