Just the way you are

It’s funny how life seems to give you the messages you need at exactly the right time.  I have a guilty pleasure to share.  I am a Gleek.  There, the cat’s out of the bag.  I love Glee.  The tv show?  It’s full of singing , dancing and pure unadulterated happiness and hope.  I tune in every week and lately the songs performed have been the backdrop to my life delivering exactly the messages I most need to hear.

This week’s favorite tune was the song Just the way you are.  It’s been playing non stop since.  The messages I retain from the song are pretty simple.  You’re amazing just the way you are.  When you smile the whole world stops and stares for a while.  If perfect’s what you’re searching for just stay the same.

As someone who works in the realm of positive psychology, sees the best in people and believes in the power of change these messages are pretty great.

I love when perfection comes up with the athletes I work with. I always say there is no such thing as perfection.  It’s a construct embraced by society to make our lives miserable.  I believe in best performances, in showing up fully, in embracing ourselves exactly as we are in that moment because it’s so amazing and impermanent.  Of course I believe in better, in change and goals but are we ever great in those moments.  Just the way we are.

The line when you smile, the whole world stops and stares for a while resonates because lately my smile has been front and center.  Light from within and glowing.  I am happy.  So very, very happy.  I am doing what I love, following my passion and the universe keeps opening up and delivering.  It’s amazing. 

In high school my friends used to call me cheese because I had the biggest grin.  In the past there have been instances where people have remarked on my smile, the joy that has the power to light up a room and make the world stop and stare.  I can honestly say I have never felt happier in my life.  Ever.

So bring on amazing just the way you are.  It’s a great message isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

