Mountains

Here I am again after another long hiatus.  It’s not because I haven’t wanted to write, rather I’ve come to the decision to move this blog in another direction.  I’ve had a few comments from friends who tell me they learn from my posts.  I want to take a moment to thank them, they have spurred my desire to keep writing when I needed the impetus.

A lot has happened since I’ve last written.  My life has changed pretty dramatically for the better.  Sometimes you need to lose what you think is important  to focus on what really is.  I am grateful for the events of the past few months.  A new person has emerged: stronger, grounded, and yes, happier.

I had to lose a job and a relationship to really focus on me.  I will call them distractions, not because they weren’t important but because I wasn’t looking at what mattered.  Me.  My path.  My purpose.  I’ve always been the type of person to question why I’m here.  What’s my greater purpose?  How do I give back?  How do I use my gifts and skills to do the most good?  Do I sound like an idealist?  Maybe I am.  I believe there is a reason each of us is here.  I meet people who are searching, I can see it in their eyes.  They want more.  Others lay dormant and that’s ok too.  It is a choice.

So it is my choice to continue writing, searching and when I’m ready, to move forward in what it is that makes my heart sing the most.  I’ve named this post mountains because lately I have been climbing them both literally and figuratively.  It takes courage to keep going up a mountain on a path you’re not sure about, when you don’t know where it will take you or where you’ll end up.  Trust, courage, determination are necessary to keep going on your path.  I’m always amazed at how my body responds to physical activity, it’s like it knows, something takes over and I engage till the end.  Usually I feel better, something shifts and I feel clearer and more expansive.  The scenery on the way up makes it all worthwhile, it’s not just about getting to the top, it is a journey.  Very much like life.  If I apply a little bit of trust, courage, and determination to my life what can I accomplish?

We shall see won’t we?

Leave a Reply

