Camping

Ahh the great outdoors, nothing like it.  The sounds of frogs serenading you to sleep, loons crying and owls hooting.  Not to mention mosquitos biting and raccoons raiding the camp site.

I went camping on the long weekend, it`s traditionally my first foray of the year in the great outdoors.  Last year friends and I went to the same spot and it was arctic cold so we hiked for miles to stay warm and were generally active.  Not this year, low energy and feeling under the weather meant staying close to the site and napping lots which is nice too.  No canoeing, very little hiking, just a quiet weekend.

We sat around the fire, sang songs and roasted marshmallows, a definite highlight.  We went to the beach and frolicked in the cold water and laid in the sun, another highlight.  My partner showed up with his daughter to spend a night, she loved the whole experience, super highlight.

I woke up in the middle of the night to raccoons making off with a can of parmesan cheese we foolishly left out thinking it would be ok.  Silly us.  I fought them off not once but twice.  I awoke one night to an owl hooting just over my tent, I had never heard an owl before, it was pretty cool.

All in all a great weekend.  I look forward to more fun filled forays in the great outdoors.

Leave a Reply

