Control

Control.  How does it show up in your life?

I grew up in a family where control was omnipresent.  Generally the people who wield control have none so they feel the need to exert it over others.  Not good.  Strange how I now find myself in a relationship where control is displayed.

I guess the people who exert control in my life are there to be my teachers.  I can choose whether to do the dance with them or not.

Recently control was exercised when it came time to garner my parents’ support in buying a house.  They would have none of it.  The house was too big, too old and they would not support my decision.  Nevermind that the house had been lovingly taken care of, there had been upgrades over the years and that I wanted to have a family there.  None of that seemed to matter.  I had no choice but to capitulate without their financial support.

I have not given up on the house, it’s what I want.  I intend on doing my best to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

