New patterns

I have big news.  I’m sure some of you are going to shake your heads, others will question my sanity and maybe some of you will stop reading me.  I’ve gotten back together with my former partner.  It’s been two weeks.  All I can say is that change is possible, we are creating new patterns together and we are in a good place.

I’ve been silent about our getting back together here because I’ve been hesitant to talk about it all for fear of jinxing things, afraid of what my readers and friends might think and more importantly, because I wanted to respect our privacy.

I’m proud to say I’ve changed.  There have been a lot of instances in the past couple of weeks which have tested my character and for the most part, I’ve passed with flying colors.  He said the change in me inspired him to be a better man and do the work required to change too.  Pretty heart warming and a nice tribute to the work and change I’ve accomplished I think.  It hasn’t been easy by any stretch, the six weeks we were apart were some of the toughest I’ve been through.  They were permeated with sadness, grief and pain.  Suprisingly he was in a similar space.

It’s funny how the smallest actions create the biggest change.  Our coming together started because he dropped off a birthday card for me.  I’m grateful to him for it.  It gave us the chance to find a way back to each other.  He is the love of my life.  We have a bond that defies explanation or understanding and I’m happy and grateful for it all.  I hope the new patterns continue.

Leave a Reply

