One step forward, two steps back

I’ve been sick for the past week, I swear I’ve been in a close relationship with my bed all week.  I did leave it to go to counseling with the man I love.  It was a really good session, he felt very close to me and said he loved me more than he ever had.

Unfortunately we got into a fight when it came time to schedule our next session, he didn’t want to go next week and instead wait a month for the next availability.  I didn’t want to wait a month.  Things just went from there, he felt like I wasn’t hearing him and respecting his wishes, I felt like he didn’t care enough and it was again according to his schedule.  He then accused me of undoing all the work we’d done in our session and well, you get the idea.

I’m not sure what this says about our relationship.  We have issues like most, I’m proud to say we’re addressing them but we’re having challenges too.  Communication is one of our biggest hurdles.  We don’t seem to speak the same language, I’m emotional and he’s rational.  I’m not sure where things go from here.  We’ve agreed to wait a month before our next session together despite my wanting things to move along faster.

I guess patience is going to be the name of the game in the weeks to come, we have things we need to reflect on and work to do in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

