Compartementalization

Today’s post is about compartementalization, something I am not good at.  It seems to primarily be a male trait.  My boyfriend is exceptionally good at it.  He and I got into a row because of it last week.

You see he didn’t text me all day.  My goodness it seems trivial when I write it down but it was 2 days after having been punted from work and more than anything, I held onto small reassurances such as his texts.  So when I didn’t get a text till the end of the day from him I was pissed.

He had simply compartementalized while at work.  All perfectly logical.  I was still hurt he hadn’t taken 30 seconds out of his busy day to check in with me.  So we had a fight and I spent a horrible night tossing and turning, unable to sleep or eat the following morning until we could talk.  Analyzing everything that had been said and not said.  Seems to be a woman’s trait to go over every detail in such a fashion.

The same pattern repeats itself every time we have a falling out, I obsess, he compartementalizes.  Doesn’t seem right does it?

2 thoughts on “Compartementalization

  1. Joseph says:

    At the risk of sounding like I’m using the meta model on you, who says compartmentalizing is a male trait and analyzing everything is a famale trait? I’m sure there have been times when you compartmentalized and some other guy you dated went nuts wondering if you were “into him” enough…

  2. skigurl says:

    I’m sure I’m generalizing but it seems like it just happens too often for it not to be a trend. My girlfriends are the same way, pulling apart and picking every little part of what was said or happened, obsessing.

Leave a Reply

