When you lose a friend

Today’s post is dedicated to a very special man.  He was a good friend to me when I needed him most.  Today he opted out of a friendship with me in an attempt to seek balance.  I respect his decision but his departure has left me feeling sad.  I’m going to miss him.

He was there for me when I was going through a very difficult time with my relationship, he was the first person I reached out to.  His absence leaves me feeling a little less whole somehow.

I wish he had spoken up before instead of avoiding me and told me how he felt.  Instead he’s walked away.  I can’t help but feel rejected, angry and sad.

It also makes me think about how I treat my friends.  It’s not fair if all a friend does is dump on you, it is unbalanced.  But it takes two to tango in any relationship.  If a friend constantly keeps stepping on your toes, it’s your responsibility to speak up and say something.  Otherwise all you end up with are bruised toes.

I am mending a bruised heart. 

Goodbye my friend, thanks for being there for me, I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

