Happy days

Today’s post is a happy one, I think I’m due dear readers after the last few.  I decided on the weekend to take a day off from teaching skiing, weekends are usually my busiest time on the hill, I can spend anywhere from eight to twelve hours in a snow plow.  My knees have been screaming in protest lately and I wanted to spend some quality time with my skiing soul mate doing what we do best together.

So I drove up to his chalet in the Gatineau hills after a few lessons Saturday afternoon.  I arrived by sun down.  We went out for supper, caught up and just hung out.  The next day we hit the hill like we’ve never hit it before.  It was a brillant day, full sun and great snow conditions.  We skied our little hearts out.  I think it was the best day we’ve had on snow together.  I lost track of the amount of runs we did, it didn’t matter, what mattered was the feeling we created.  We’re rockstars on the hill, people stop and watch us ski.  It’s magic.  Just thinking about it I get excited.

Run after run, of pure fearlessness and pure feeling.  Carving, releasing, a dance that has an incredible hold on me and on him.  I love that we get to create this experience together, we smile, laugh, talk about it and enjoy each other.  Pure fun, I just want to soak it up and enjoy the juices. 

I love the way I ski.  Fearless, fast, at the front of the pack and in the words of my skiing soul mate: “a ski Betty from hell who takes no prisoners.”  Talking after our day together, I wished I lived more of my life the way I ski.  It’s not out of the realm of possibility and it gives me something to think about when I get caught up in my stuff.  All I have to do is transport myself to the hill, to that day and to remember who I am on skis.

Sounds good to me.

Leave a Reply

