Dating a workaholic

Today’s post is about dating a workaholic.  Pretty self explanatory, not so easy to deal with in reality. As the daughter of one I am all too aware of what it’s like to be waiting for your dad to show up for birthdays, halloween, family outings, vacations.  I’ve lost count of the number of times we’ve been ready to go and are left waiting for my father to show.  It seems lately I’ve attracted a host of workaholics into my life.  I put the brakes on one yesterday who spent, get this, 14 hour days at the office.  I’m sorry but what does that say about you that you can’t balance your life.  No business is that important, I don’t care what anyone says.  When you’re on your death bed will you have wanted to spend more time at the office?  Seriously.

What irked me the most is I’d send these texts, now I’m not talking crazy volumes of texting.  I’d rarely get a reply, he begged off by saying that his business took priority.  I’m sorry but my reply to that is if you can’t take 30 seconds out of your busy ass day to text me you are so not worth my time as I am obviously not a priority in yours.  Enough said.  Makes me sad to say goodbye because I see the potential there, however, I’m not up to taking on ‘cases’.  As a life coach I have to be very careful not to attract ‘projects’.  Easier said than done of course because I am the eternal optimist and see the potential and positives in everyone.

I had one date with another guy in October, granted he was from the country and an hour and a half away.  That really should have been my first sign.  So I made this amazing roast chicken dinner with all the trimmings for him and he shows up two whole hours late.  I kid you not.  If I was him, I would have turned around and gone home.  He came bearing gifts which is good but still doesn’t make up for such tardiness.  Yet another sign of what time represents to the guy and how I am so not a priority.  I haven’t seen hide nor hair of him since and I fully expect not to as he has said himself he doesn’t get into the city much.  Hello?  What am I?  Chopped freaking liver?  In hindsight I should really have blown him off because the guy so put his needs above my own in more ways than one if you know what I mean.  Bad lovers get the boot as far as I’m concerned because their lack of concern for their partner in bed so translates to other areas of life too.  Some people should be slapped in the back of the head and told to wake up.  Sigh.

What about you?  You must have stories around dating workaholics.  Weigh in!

Leave a Reply

