To love or not to love?

Today’s post is on unrequited love, no I’m not talking about Romeo and Juliet, I’m talking about when you’re in a relationship and one partner feels more for the other.  Such a thing happens all the time, I’ve always said it’s better for my partner to love me more that way if anything happens it’ll make things easier somehow and I won’t be so hurt.  So it’s often been the case where my relationships follow the same pattern.  Such a case happened a year ago.  Now I don’t have to remind you I’m in my mid thirthies and the biological clock is ticking, no make that ringing non-stop.  So I was dating a really great guy.  Good job, nice house, really loved me, all the trimmings right?  Wrong.  There was an important thing missing: my love.  I’d go to sleep every night praying I’d wake up in love with the man but to no avail.  It didn’t matter what the guy did or didn’t do, I felt only great affection and nothing more.

Sure I went through all the paces, we looked at houses, dreamed a little until I just couldn’t live with myself anymore and things had to end.  I wish I could say I took the high road and ended things the right way, if there is such a thing.  Instead I had an affair and he inevitably found out.  Things ended all right but not without a lot of pain and suffering.  I wish I could go back and make things right.  The good news is he’s forgiven me and we still chat from time to time.  He is a good man and will make some girl really happy some day, just not me. 

I wonder who will?

Do you have any similar stories of unrequited love?  Weigh in!

Leave a Reply

