Hello world!

Hello world is right!

My name is Natalie and this blog is a sprinkling of my dating trials and tribulations in the big old city of Ottawa.  Being single in your thirties is no easy feat.  I’ve been dating for what seems like ages and have some pretty great stories.  My friends have encouraged me to write about them so here goes.

Most of the guys I meet are through an internet dating website called lavalife.  It’s been my playground for about 5 years now.  Ah the stories I could tell.  I want to reassure my dates their identities will be protected.

I want to start off by a little something that happened on a date I had Friday.  My date and I met at The Works in Orleans.  The date went well; we had good conversation, great food and decided to continue our evening elsewhere.  Not being from the sprawling suburb that is Orleans, I had to follow my date to our next destination.  Inadvertently, I cut someone off in the parking lot.  My first horrifying exposure to road rage began.

I need to assume a man was driving because no woman could possibly have done this.  Or am I wrong?  The guy proceeded to tailgate me, at which time I slammed on the brakes and flipped him the bird.  Then the fun truly began.  This maniac proceeded to continue tailgating me for blocks while flashing his lights at me the whole time like some looped crazy before turning off onto his street.

Needless to say the whole affair left me at a loss.  At one point I brought the car to a stop thinking of getting out but I figured matters would only escalate.  The incident brought my date to a screaming halt, I just couldn’t enjoy myself any more.  I kept running scenarios through my mind of what I would have said and done had I stopped.  The whole thing left me with a feeling of unease.

How about you?  Have you ever been the victim or witness to road rage?

I want this blog to be interactive, so write!

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. 86p says:

    As a woman myself, I don’t understand how people get so mad about road rage. If someone cuts you off, do you need to have a heart attack over it? I don’t think so…
    I’ve read about people getting stabbed after road rage incidents and I’m glad that you didn’t get out of your car and talk to the person who was following you. You never know what people will do these days.. It’s definitly better to err on the side of caution!

  2. Chantal says:

    Road rage has happened to me on what should have been one of the happiest days turned out to be a terrible episode. We were coming home with our new born baby, the individual behind us had to wait as we waited to turn into a store front as there were no turning lanes. He immediately began honking and yelling out the window. My husband not being the coolest of individuals yells back. Well, he follows us to the parking lot and gets out so of course hubby gets out and they are yelling in each others faces. It escalates and he is calling for a fight… hubby now has him pinned to the hood of his car!!! I had to leave my new born in the vehicle to separate the two… not pleasant. Final he gets in his vehicle and starts circling the parking lot and won’t leave! I finally pretended to call the police on my cell and he left. After shopping I thought it over and decided this individual was too dangerous to let it slide so we reported it to the police. It is best to ignore peoples reactions as situations can easily get out of hand!!

Leave a Reply

